Inaugurated upon the restauration and transformation of the church Erskine and American, dating from the 19th century, the Bourgie concert hall, with a seating capacity of 444, has become one of Montreal’s most important location for cultural dissemination. The hall’s dimensions make it ideal for the needs of chamber-music ensembles.
At once intimate and breathtaking, enter this unique hall and discover its fascinating history; marvel at the exceptional Tiffany stained glass windows, magnificently restored, that are now on display.
The windows of the hall constitute without a doubt one of its greatest treasures. There are about 20 of them, stemming from the famous American stained glass factory Tiffany: very colorful and impressive, they are installed in the interior chapel. It is the most important collection of its kind in the world.
The Tiffany style is recognizable due to its stained glass with its spectacular special lighting effects, its naturalist lamps, its famous glass cover lampshades, its screens adorned with metal filigree “knitted” with precious colored glass. It can be distinguised from traditional clear European glass due to its translucent aspect.
Louis-Confort TIFFANY, son of renowned New-York jewelers, and also a painter, managed in 1890 to simplify stained-glass making technique by replacing the lead profile with a copper ribbon, and by eliminating paint by replacing it with opaline-based glass production, which could offer a large variety of effects and textures. This is perfectly in keeping with art nouveau aesthetics, while leading stained glass craftmanship in the industrial era. The method, in addition to doors and windows, allows for the realization of small objects and jewels, as well as bigger objects such as those Tiffany lamps which have rendered his name famous even if the artworks stemming from his workshop still remain somewhat obscure.
ADDRESS: Bourgie Hall
Pavillon Claire et Marc Bourgie
Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal
1339, rue Sherbrooke Ouest