Juan Sebastián
Delgado

Cello

Digital Broadcast
From February 28 to March 13, 2021
Concert
Digital Broadcast
Location
Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur
City
Montréal

* Pricing, artists, repertoire, concert dates and times are subject to change without notice.

Videos

Biography

First-prize winner at the Latin-American Cello Festival in 2008, Argentinean cellist Juan Sebastián Delgado completed Doctoral studies in performance at McGill University with Matt Haimovitz, focusing on contemporary music and Nuevo Tango. The CBC Radio Ideas chose his artistic research to be featured throughout Canada and he was the featured cellist in the episode Virtuoso Brain by the TV program Découverte.

Active in the creation and dissemination of new works that explore the cello in innovative ways Juan Sebastián has conducted a variety of research-creation projects in 25 different countries: Pájaro contra el borde de la noche for solo cello, ensemble and electronics by composer Luis Naón (Paris Conservatory, IRCAM 2017), commissioned by Radio France, the Cairn Ensemble and CIRMMT, Cinco Tangos Apócrifos for cello and string orchestra by Jorge Bosso (2016) and Mientras, antes… for cello and piano by Gustavo Beytelmann (ex-pianist of Astor Piazzolla). Invited to participate at the Creative Dialogues 2017, he worked with world-renowned composer Kaija Saariaho and premiered new chamber works for strings and electronics in Helsinki, Finland. At the Lyon Biennale 2018, he premiered Daniel’s Tango for cello and marimba by composer Marcelo Nisinman.

In September of 2019, Juan Sebastian was invited by the Albanian Government to perform a recital with pianist Redi Llupa at the Academy of Science and Arts in Tirana premiering new works for cello and piano by Albanian composers (Simaku, Tole). Canadian composer Jason Noble will be writing a new cello concerto to be premiered in 2021 and musicologist Jonathan Goldman is writing a chamber opera for cello, bandoneon and narration to be premiered in 2021 at the Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur.

The label Leaf Music will be launching a series of solo recordings, including the tour de force Puneña No 2 by Alberto Ginastera which was reviewed by composer and former Ginastera’ student Alcidez Lanza, as a brilliant interpretation. His interest in research and education brought him to create and structure a graduate seminar on the history of the tango at McGill University and since 2018, he teaches cello at the Share the Warmth Foundation. He has given masterclasses and lectures at Concordia University, The Boston Conservatory, Cuenca University in Ecuador and Bogota University among others.

Together with percussionist Krystina Marcoux, he is the cellist of the energetic and up-and-coming marimba-cello duo, Stick&Bow. They recently released their album Resonance with the Canadian label Leaf Music featuring their own arrangements of music from Bach to Nina Simone. The album was chosen as one of the 16 albums you-need-to-listen-2019 by the CBC. They were emerging artists of Jeunesses Musicale touring eastern Canada and will be performing at renowned festivals, Classica and Bach festival in Montreal.

*Biography provided by the artist

Juan Sebastián
Delgado

Violoncelle

Diffusion numérique
Du dimanche 28 février au 13 mars 2021
Enregistrement
1 décembre 2020
Concert
Diffusion numérique
Lieu
Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur
Ville
Montréal

* La tarification, les artistes, le répertoire, les dates et les heures des concerts peuvent être modifiés sans préavis.

Extrait du concert

Biographie

Premier prix du Festival latino-américain de violoncelle en 2008, le violoncelliste argentin Juan Sebastián Delgado a complété un doctorat en interprétation à l’Université McGill avec Matt Haimovitz, portant sur la musique contemporaine et le nuevo tango. L’émission Ideas de CBC Radio One a choisi de diffuser ses recherches artistiques dans tout le Canada et il a été le violoncelliste vedette du segment « Cerveau virtuose » de l’émission de télévision Découverte.

Actif dans la création et la diffusion de nouvelles œuvres qui explorent le violoncelle de manière innovante, Juan Sebastián a mené une variété de projets de recherche-création dans 25 pays différents : Pájaro contra el borde de la noche pour violoncelle seul, ensemble et électronique du compositeur Luis Naón (Conservatoire de Paris, IRCAM 2017), une commande de Radio France, de l’Ensemble Cairn et du CIRMMT, Cinco Tangos Apócrifos pour violoncelle et orchestre à cordes de Jorge Bosso (2016) et Mientras, antes… pour violoncelle et piano de Gustavo Beytelmann (ex-pianiste d’Astor Piazzolla). Invité à participer aux « Creative Dialogues 2017 », il a travaillé avec le compositeur de renommée mondiale Kaija Saariaho et a créé de nouvelles œuvres de chambre pour cordes et électronique à Helsinki, en Finlande. À la Biennale de Lyon 2018, il a créé le Daniel’s Tango pour violoncelle et marimba du compositeur Marcelo Nisinman.

En septembre 2019, Juan Sebastian a été invité par le gouvernement albanais à donner un récital avec le pianiste Redi Llupa à l’Académie des sciences et des arts de Tirana, où il a créé de nouvelles œuvres pour violoncelle et piano de compositeurs albanais (Simaku et Tole). Le compositeur canadien Jason Noble lui écrira un nouveau concerto pour violoncelle qui sera créé en 2021, et le musicologue Jonathan Goldman lui écrira un opéra de chambre pour violoncelle, bandonéon et narration qui sera créé en 2021 à la Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur.

L’étiquette indépendante Leaf Music lancera un album de ses enregistrements en solo, incluant le tour de force Puneña n°2 d’Alberto Ginastera, qualifié de « brillante » interprétation par le compositeur et ancien élève de Ginastera, Alcidez Lanza. Son intérêt pour la recherche et l’éducation l’a amené à créer et à structurer un séminaire d’études supérieures sur l’histoire du tango à l’Université McGill. De plus, il enseigne depuis 2018 le violoncelle à l’école de musique de l’organisme Partageons l’espoir. Il a également donné des classes de maître et des conférences à l’Université Concordia, au Conservatoire de Boston, à l’Université de Cuenca en Équateur et à l’Université de Bogota, entre autres.

Avec la percussionniste Krystina Marcoux, il est le violoncelliste de l’énergique et prometteur duo Stick&Bow, jumelant marimba et violoncelle. Ils ont récemment fait paraître l’album Resonance avec l’étiquette indépendante canadienne Leaf Music, qui propose leurs propres arrangements de pièces musicales allant de Bach à Nina Simone. L’album a été choisi comme l’un des 16 albums incontournables en 2019 par la CBC. Ils ont fait partie de la tournée des « jeunes artistes émergents » des Jeunesses Musicales du Canada dans l’est du Canada et se produiront dans des festivals de renom, dont le Festival Classica et le festival Bach Montréal.

*Biographie fournie par l’artiste

Vidéos