Kerson Leong

Violin

Digital Broadcast
From January 10 to January 23, 2021
Recording
November 27th 2020
Concert
Digital Broadcast
Location
Domaine Bavarois
City
Dunham

* Pricing, artists, repertoire, concert dates and times are subject to change without notice.

Videos

Biography

Kerson Leong first took the music world by storm in 2010 by winning the coveted Junior First Prize at the prestigious Menuhin Competition. Ever since, the young Canadian violinist has astonished and won over both fellow musicians and audiences alike the world over with his rare and innovative mastery of his instrument, his natural ability to convey the subtlest of emotions, and the colossal scope of his live performances. Having been called “Canada’s next great violinist” (Ludwig van Toronto), he has distinguished himself with his unique approach as one of the most brilliant musicians of his generation.

Kerson has played in some of the most prestigious concert venues around the world from Carnegie Hall’s Stern Auditorium and the Auditorium du Louvre to Wigmore Hall and the National Center for the Performing Arts in Beijing. He is in regular demand as a soloist, having performed with such ensembles as the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, the Oslo Philharmonic, the Vienna Chamber Orchestra, the Stavanger Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestre National de Lorraine, the Sinfonieorchester Wuppertal, the Liège Royal Philharmonic, the Kansai Philharmonic Orchestra, the Orchestra Gulbenkian, the Stockton Symphony Orchestra, the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, the Montreal Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestre Metropolitain de Montreal, the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, the Quebec Symphony Orchestra, and the National Arts Centre Orchestra of Canada, as well as numerous other orchestras in his home country. In the 2018/2019 season, Kerson was named Artist-in-Residence with the Orchestre Métropolitain de Montreal under Yannick Nezet-Seguin.

Kerson is also an avid and passionate chamber musician. Since his debut at the Gstaad Menuhin Festival in Switzerland in 2011, he has been featured at many renowned international festivals and concert series, including the Verbier Festival, Rheingau Musik Festival, Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Fraenkische Musiktage, Flâneries musicales de Reims, Bergen International Festival, Trasimeno Music Festival, Schiermonnikoog Chamber Music Festival, Toronto Summer Music Festival, Ottawa International Chamberfest, Music and Beyond, Montreal Symphony Orchestra’s Virée classique, and Domaine Forget International Music Festival among others.

Kerson released Bis, his first album for Analekta showcasing a collection of encore pieces, to critical acclaim.  He recorded John Rutter’s Visions with the composer himself and the Aurora Chamber Orchestra for Collegium Records, after giving its world premiere in London, UK.  He has also been invited by Canadian composer Francois Dompierre to record his piece, Les Diableries. Kerson can also be heard on CBC Television, CBC/Radio Canada, the BBC Radio 3, Radio France, Radio Television Suisse, American Public Media’s SymphonyCast, NRK, RAI, Deutschlandradio Kultur, and Czech Radio. He has been a recipient of many awards such as the Sylva Gelber Music Foundation Award (2015-2017) and the Young Soloist Prize 2015 by the Radios Francophone Publiques, as well as having received a Mentorship Award from the Lin Yao Ji Music Foundation of China for inspiring younger generations. He was named Revelation Radio-Canada 2014-2015 for classical music.

Kerson is an associated artist of the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel in Belgium, where he was mentored by Augustin Dumay. Teaching is becoming a growing passion for Kerson, having given masterclasses and taught at various festivals and universities including the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki, the University of Ottawa, and Memorial University in St. John’s, Newfoundland.

He has always been keen on making connections between music and other fields. Ever since his dad started introducing him to physics concepts about string resonance, they have strongly influenced his playing and philosophy on sound production. Together with his dad, he has given lectures about this subject in places such as the Central Conservatory of Music in Beijing, the Barratt Due Music Institute in Oslo, and various universities in California.

Kerson performs on a 1741 Guarneri del Gesù courtesy of Canimex Inc, Drummondville (Quebec), Canada.

*Biography provided by the artist

Videos

Kerson Leong

Violon

Diffusion numérique
Du dimanche 10 janvier au 23 janvier 2021
Enregistrement
Vendredi 27 novembre 2020 15 h
Concert
Diffusion numérique
Lieu
Domaine Bavarois
Ville
Dunham

* La tarification, les artistes, le répertoire, les dates et les heures des concerts peuvent être modifiés sans préavis.

Vidéos

Biographie

Kerson Leong a fait une entrée remarquée dans le monde de la musique en 2010 en remportant le très convoité Premier Prix junior au prestigieux concours Menuhin. Depuis, le jeune violoniste canadien a étonné et conquis ses collègues musiciens de même que le public du monde entier grâce à sa maîtrise exceptionnelle et novatrice de son instrument, à sa capacité naturelle à transmettre les émotions les plus subtiles et à l’indéniable charisme de ses prestations sur scène. Qualifié de « prochain grand violoniste canadien » (Ludwig van Toronto), il s’est distingué par son approche unique, s’affirmant ainsi comme l’un des plus brillants musiciens de sa génération.

Kerson a joué dans quelques-unes des salles de concert les plus prestigieuses du monde; le Stern Auditorium du Carnegie Hall, l’Auditorium du Louvre, le Wigmore Hall de Londres et le Centre national des arts du spectacle de Pékin. Il est régulièrement sollicité à se produire en tant que soliste, ayant joué avec des ensembles tels que l’Orchestre philharmonique royal (RPO), l’Orchestre philharmonique d’Oslo, l’Orchestre de chambre de Vienne, l’Orchestre symphonique de Stavanger, l’Orchestre national de Lorraine, le Sinfonieorchester Wuppertal, l’Orchestre philharmonique royal de Liège, l’Orchestre philharmonique du Kansai, l’Orchestre de la fondation Gulbenkian, l’Orchestre symphonique de Stockton, l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, l’Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal, l’Orchestre symphonique de Vancouver, l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec et l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts du Canada, ainsi que de nombreux autres orchestres dans son pays d’origine. Au cours de la saison 2018-2019, Kerson a été nommé artiste en résidence à l’Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal sous la direction de Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

Kerson est également un chambriste avide et passionné. Depuis ses débuts au Festival Menuhin de Gstaad en Suisse en 2011, il a participé à de nombreux festivals et séries de concerts internationaux de renom, notamment le Verbier Festival, le Rheingau Musik Festival, les Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, les Fraenkische Musiktage, les Flâneries Musicales de Reims, le Bergen International Festival, le Trasimeno Music Festival, l’International Chamber Music Festival Schiermonnikoog, le Toronto Summer Music Festival, le Ottawa Chamberfest, Music and Beyond, la Virée classique de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal et le Festival International du Domaine Forget.

Kerson a fait paraître Bis en 2016, son premier album pour Analekta, présentant une sélection de rappels appréciés des violonistes d’hier et d’aujourd’hui, lequel a été salué par la critique. Il a enregistré Visions de John Rutter avec le compositeur lui-même et l’Aurora Chamber Orchestra pour Collegium Records, après en avoir donné la première mondiale à Londres, au Royaume-Uni.  Il a également été invité par le compositeur canadien François Dompierre à participer à l’enregistrement de sa pièce Les Diableries. On peut de plus entendre Kerson sur les chaînes CBC Television, CBC/Radio Canada, la BBC Radio 3, Radio France, Radio Télévision Suisse, American Public Media, NRK, RAI, Deutschlandradio Kultur et la Czech Radio. Il a reçu de nombreuses récompenses telles que le prix de la Fondation Sylva-Gelber pour la musique (2015-2017) et le prix du jeune soliste 2015 des Radios Francophones Publiques, ainsi qu’un Prix de mentorat de la Lin Yao Ji Music Foundation de Chine pour son rôle inspirant auprès des jeunes générations. Il a été nommé Révélation Radio-Canada 2014-2015 en musique classique.

Kerson est un Artiste associé de la Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth, en Belgique, où il a été encadré par Augustin Dumay. L’enseignement suscite une passion croissante pour Kerson, qui a donné des classes de maître et enseigné dans divers festivals et universités, notamment à la Jacobs School of Music de l’Université de l’Indiana, à la Sibelius Academy d’Helsinki, à l’Université d’Ottawa et à l’Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve.

Il a toujours tenu à établir des liens entre la musique et d’autres domaines. Depuis que son père a commencé à l’initier aux concepts de physique de la corde vibrante, ces notions ont fortement influencé son jeu et sa philosophie en matière de production sonore. Avec son père, il a donné des conférences sur ce sujet au Conservatoire central de musique de Pékin, à l’Institut de musique Barratt Due d’Oslo ainsi que dans diverses universités de Californie.

Kerson joue sur un violon Guarneri del Gesù de 1741, gracieuseté du Groupe Canimex, Drummondville (Québec), Canada.

*Biographie fournie par l’artiste