Michel-Alexandre Broekaert

Piano

Digital Broadcast
From May 9 to May 22, 2021
Concert
Digital Broadcast
Location
Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur
City
Montréal

* Pricing, artists, repertoire, concert dates and times are subject to change without notice.

Videos

Biography

Recognized for his profound and spectacular interpretations, Quebec pianist Michel-Alexandre Broekaert is one of the most promising musicians of his generation. Early on, he developed a passion for accompaniment and chamber music, which enabled him to acquire an experience as vast as eclectic. At ease both on stage and in the studio, he divides his time between the instrumental repertoire and the world of opera with equal pleasure.

A pedagogue at heart, his activities as a coach/pianist-collaborator at the Université de Montréal and at McGill University nourish his passion for passing on knowledge to generations of young musicians. He is also committed to the future of classical music, actively engaging with established organizations and collectives of experienced musicians to present this art form in an accessible and casual way.

Michel-Alexandre is very active in the Quebec scene and regularly collaborates with many organizations, such as the Canadian Vocal Arts Institute, the Opéra de Montréal, the OSM-Manuvie competition, Opéra à la Carte, as well as the collective 1 Opéra 1 Heure. At the same time, he is the Artistic Director of La Petite Maison des Arts and Artistic Advisor for the Société d’art vocal de Montréal. On a day-to-day basis, he shares his chamber music experience with up-and-coming musicians in both Université de Montréal and McGill University.

It is in the world of chamber music, more particularly in the field of collaboration between singer and pianist, that he reveals himself to the world, mainly alongside Quebec soprano Andréanne Brisson-Paquin. In 2011, the duo distinguished itself in Paris, receiving a special jury prize for the best interpretation of a work by Francis Poulenc, as part of the Concours international de Chant-Piano Nadia et Lili Boulanger. They were back again in 2013, winning the 2nd Prize at the prestigious Lyon International Chamber Music Competition.

Michel-Alexandre also distinguished himself at the 2016 Mary Trueman Art Song Vocal Competition, receiving the Pianist Prize and, more recently, he won the Special Prize for Best Accompanying Pianist at the Festival Classica’s International Recital Competition of French Art Songs. He holds a Ph.D. from the Université de Montréal, under the tutelage of Mr. Jean Saulnier, and also perfected his skills in Vienna (Austria) with the renowned pedagogue Avedis Kouyoumdjian.

“He is an excellent listener […] and has a remarkable touch. In his hands, the music breathes and blossoms.” – Revue Opéra

*Biography provided by the artist

Michel-Alexandre Broekaert

Piano

Diffusion numérique
Dimanche le 9 mai 2021
Concert
Diffusion numérique
Enregistrement devant public*
Lieu
Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur
Ville
Montréal

* La tarification, les artistes, le répertoire, les dates et les heures des concerts peuvent être modifiés sans préavis.

Vidéos

Biographie

Reconnu pour ses interprétations senties et spectaculaires, le pianiste québécois Michel-Alexandre Broekaert est l’un des musiciens les plus prometteurs de sa génération. Habité très tôt d’une passion pour l’accompagnement et la musique de chambre, il cumule une expérience aussi vaste qu’éclectique. À l’aise tant sur scène qu’en studio, il partage son temps entre le répertoire instrumental et le monde de l’art lyrique avec tout autant de bonheur.

Pédagogue dans l’âme, ses activités de coach/pianiste-collaborateur à l’Université de Montréal ainsi qu’à l’Université McGill nourrissent sa passion pour la transmission du savoir aux générations de jeunes musiciens. L’avenir de la musique classique lui tient aussi à cœur; il est activement engagé auprès d’organismes établis et de collectifs de musiciens chevronnés dans l’optique de présenter cette forme d’art sous un jour accessible et décloisonné.

Très actif sur la scène québécoise, Michel-Alexandre collabore régulièrement avec de nombreux organismes, tels que l’Institut Canadien d’Art Vocal, l’Opéra de Montréal, le Concours OSM Manuvie, Opéra à la Carte, ainsi que le collectif 1 Opéra 1 Heure. En parallèle, il agit comme directeur artistique de La Petite Maison des Arts et occupe les fonctions de conseiller artistique à la Société d’art vocal de Montréal. Au quotidien, on le retrouve à l’Université de Montréal et à l’Université McGill, où il partage son expérience de chambriste avec les musiciens de demain.

C’est dans le monde de la musique de chambre, plus particulièrement de la collaboration chanteur-pianiste, qu’il se révèle au monde, principalement aux côtés de la soprano québécoise Andréanne Brisson-Paquin. Le duo s’illustre à Paris en 2011, recevant un Prix spécial du Jury récompensant la meilleure interprétation d’une œuvre de Francis Poulenc, dans le cadre du Concours international de Chant-Piano Nadia et Lili Boulanger. Ils récidivent en 2013, se méritant le 2e Prix du prestigieux Concours international de musique de chambre de Lyon.

Michel-Alexandre s’illustre également à la « 2016 Mary Trueman Art Song Vocal Competition », y recevant le « Pianist Prize » et, plus récemment, il remporte le Prix spécial du meilleur pianiste accompagnateur lors du Récital-Concours international de mélodies françaises du Festival Classica. Détenteur d’un doctorat de l’Université de Montréal, sous la tutelle de M. Jean Saulnier, il s’est aussi perfectionné à Vienne, en Autriche, auprès du réputé pédagogue Avedis Kouyoumdjian.

*Biographie fournie par l’artiste