Noémie Raymond-Friset

Cello

Digital Broadcast
From May 9 to May 22, 2021
Concert
Digital Broadcast
Location
Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur
City
Montréal

* Pricing, artists, repertoire, concert dates and times are subject to change without notice.

Videos

Biography

One of the most promising Canadian cellists of her generation, Noémie is one of CBC Music’s “30 Hot Canadian Classical Musicians under 30”. She is a passionate musician, praised for her sensitive and refined playing. Noémie made her debut at the London’s Royal Albert Hall in December 2016 and was also a winner of the 2018 International Stepping Stone, the Canimex Canadian Music Competition, the Edwin H. and Leigh W. Schadt String Competition and the WAMSO Young Artist Competition, where she was awarded for her outstanding performance. At the 2017 Prix d’Europe, she received the Beatrice-Kennedy-Bourbeau Prize for the best interpretation of a work, all genres and instruments, and previously received the Guy Soucie Prize for the best interpretation of a Canadian work.

Noémie serves as the Artistic director of the Eastman Cello Ensemble and is quite active in the musical community. She recently returned from a tour in Cambodia, in a quartet with violinist Midori as part of the ICEP Music Sharing program. She took part in the most recent tours of the Heifetz International Music Institute and has been one of their Artist in Residence. She has been heard several times on Performance Today, New York’s popular classical music radio show and was invited by the Music Corporation of Viña del Mar to perform in La Calera (Chile) as part of an introductory program to classical music with young students. Noémie was also a guest artist at the XVIII International Festival of Musica de Camara in Lima (Peru). She has performed extensively in Quebec, notably at the Montreal Chamber Music Festival, the Festival International de Lanaudière, the Orford International Music Festival and the Festival Les Concerts de la Chapelle. In June 2016, she recorded the Prokofiev’s Sonata for Cello and Piano for Radio-Canada with pianist Lysandre Ménard.

As a soloist, she has been invited to perform with the National Arts Center Orchestra, the Orchestre symphonique de Longueuil, the Orchestre de la Francophonie, the Orchestre de chambre Carlos Costa, the Orchestre de l’Agora, the Orchestre symphonique des jeunes de la Montérégie and the Orchestre symphonique du Conservatoire de musique de Montréal.

Noémie currently plays on the magnificent “Ex-Curtis” cello by Matteo Goffriller (1700), graciously on loaned to her by Canimex Inc., Drummondville, Qc. She also owns a Jean-Dominique Adam bow, dating from 1835.

*Biography provided by the artist

Noémie Raymond-Friset

Violoncelle

Diffusion numérique
Dimanche le 9 mai 2021
Enregistrement
17 février 2021
Concert
Diffusion numérique
Enregistrement devant public*
Lieu
Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur
Ville
Montréal

* La tarification, les artistes, le répertoire, les dates et les heures des concerts peuvent être modifiés sans préavis.

Extrait du concert

Biographie

Violoncelliste canadienne parmi les plus prometteuses de sa génération, Noémie est l’une des « 30 Hot Canadian Classical Musicians under 30 » édition 2018, de CBC Music. Elle est une musicienne passionnée, louée pour son jeu sensible et raffiné. Noémie a fait ses débuts au Royal Albert Hall de Londres en décembre 2016 et fut également lauréate du Tremplin International 2018, du Concours de musique du Canada Canimex, de la Edwin H. and Leigh W. Schadt String International Competition et de la WAMSO Young Artist Competition, où elle a été récompensée pour ses performances exceptionnelles. Au Prix d’Europe 2017, elle recevait le Prix Beatrice-Kennedy-Bourbeau pour la meilleure interprétation d’une œuvre, tous genres et instruments confondus, et y recevait précédemment le Prix Guy Soucie pour la meilleure interprétation d’une œuvre canadienne.

Directrice artistique de l’Eastman Cello Ensemble, Noémie est très active dans la communauté musicale. Elle revient d’une tournée au Cambodge en décembre 2019, en quatuor avec la violoniste Midori, dans le cadre du programme ICEP Music Sharing. Elle a pris part aux plus récentes tournées du Heifetz International Music Institute et y était récemment artiste en résidence. On l’a entendue à plusieurs reprises à Performance Today, la populaire émission radiophonique de musique classique de New York, et a également été invitée par la Corporation Musicale de Viña del Mar, où elle s’est produite à La Calera (Chili) dans le cadre d’un programme d’introduction à la musique classique auprès de jeunes étudiants. Noémie a également été artiste invitée au XVIII Festival Internacional de Musica de Camara à Lima (Pérou). Au Québec, on a pu l’entendre, entre autres, au Festival de musique de chambre de Montréal, au Festival international de Lanaudière, au Festival international de Musique d’Orford dans le cadre des Déjeuners-concerts ainsi qu’au Festival Les Concerts de la Chapelle. En juin 2016, elle enregistrait la Sonate pour violoncelle et piano de Prokofiev pour Radio-Canada avec la pianiste Lysandre Ménard.

Comme soliste, elle a été invitée à s’exécuter avec l’Orchestre du Centre National des Arts, l’Orchestre Symphonique de Longueuil, l’Orchestre de la Francophonie, l’Orchestre de Chambre Carlos Costa, l’Orchestre Symphonique de l’Agora, l’Orchestre des Jeunes de la Montérégie ainsi que l’Orchestre du Conservatoire de Musique de Montréal.

Noémie joue présentement sur le magnifique violoncelle « Ex-Curtis » de Matteo Goffriller (1700), gracieusement mis à sa disposition par Canimex Inc., Drummondville, Qc. Elle possède également un archet Jean-Dominique Adam, datant de 1835.

*Biographie fournie par l’artiste

Vidéos