Viktor Lazarov

Piano

Digital Broadcast
From April 25 to May 8, 2021
Recording
february 17th, 2021
Concert
Digital Broadcast
Location
Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur
City
Montréal

* Pricing, artists, repertoire, concert dates and times are subject to change without notice.

Preview

Biography

A classically trained pianist studying musicology and leading a startup business project, Viktor Lazarov follows an original career path. His mission: to exploit to the fullest his passions for performing, learning and creating new opportunities in the classical music world.

Striving for balance in his repertoire, Viktor performs Bach, Beethoven, Brahms and Chopin along 20th and 21st century Balkan composers. Since the 2017-2018 season, he has organized over 20 concerts and lecture-recitals from Western Canada to Serbia presenting works by Slavic and Serbian-Canadian composers.

Simon Blanchet, artistic director of the Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur in Montreal, praised Viktor for his “dazzling performance and remarquable public communication. He shows great musicality, impressive mastery of his instrument and a contagious pleasure to be on stage”. Viktor has performed internationally at the New York City International Keyboard Institute and Festival, the University of Florida International Piano Festival and the Burgos Music Festival in Spain.

After earning a B.Mus. in piano performance at the University of South Carolina with Prof. Marina Lomazov, Viktor won a Social Science and Humanities Research Council grant for the study of the music of J.S. Bach with Ilya Poletaev at McGill University. Upon graduating with a M.Mus. and Graduate Performance Diploma, he enrolled in a Ph.D. program in Musicology at the University of Montreal supervised by Dr. Caroline Traube. His research into style and interpretation completes his experience as a performing artist and deepens his understanding of the music he plays.

Viktor presented his work at conferences in Graz (Austria), Calgary and Montreal, and has been awarded scholarships by the Observatoire interdisciplinaire de création et recherche en musique, the University of Montreal and McGill University. He is regularly invited to perform on radio and TV stations and talk about his varied activities.

As a self-promoting musician, Viktor has a special concern for the managerial side of musicians’ careers. He and his business partner are working on a practical and creative new way to assist musicians in better organizing their careers. Their idea for an innovate platform earned them the prize for Best Career Project by the Fondation du Père Lindsay – Orford Music in 2018. While the road is long, Viktor feels privileged to be able to pursue these opportunities to share his passion and contribute to the world of music in a meaningful way!

*Biography provided by the artist

Videos

Viktor Lazarov

Piano

Diffusion numérique
Du dimanche 25 avril au 8 mai 2021
Concert
Diffusion numérique
Lieu
Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur
Ville
Montréal

* La tarification, les artistes, le répertoire, les dates et les heures des concerts peuvent être modifiés sans préavis.

Vidéos

Extraits sonores

Biographie

Viktor Lazarov creuse un chemin à part : un pianiste classique accompli, il étudie la musicologie et mène un projet d’affaires en démarrage. Sa mission : explorer ses passions pour l’interprétation et l’étude de la musique et créer de nouvelles opportunités dans le monde de la musique classique.

Cherchant un équilibre dans son répertoire, Viktor joue Bach, Beethoven, Brahms et Chopin à part égale avec des compositeurs modernes et contemporains originaires des Balkans. Depuis la saison 2017-2018, il a organisé plus de 20 concerts et conférences, de l’Ouest canadien jusqu’en Serbie, présentant des œuvres de compositeurs slaves et serbo-canadiens.

Simon Blanchet, le directeur artistique de la Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur à Montréal, s’est exprimé en ces mots à propos de Viktor : « Sa prestation était éblouissante et sa communication avec le public était remarquable. Il manifeste une grande musicalité, une impressionnante maîtrise de son instrument ainsi qu’un plaisir contagieux à être sur scène. » Viktor a participé à de nombreux festivals dont le New York City International Keyboard Institute and Festival, l’University of Florida International Piano Festival et Burgos International Music Festival en Espagne.

Après ses études de premier cycle auprès de Marina Lomazov à l’Université de la Caroline du Sud, Viktor s’est vu octroyer la bourse d’études supérieures du Conseil de recherche en sciences humaines pour étudier la musique de J.S. Bach avec Ilya Poletaev à l’Université McGill. Après avoir complété une maîtrise et un diplôme supérieur en interprétation, Viktor commence un Ph. D. en musicologie sous la direction de Dr. Caroline Traube à l’Université de Montréal. Ses travaux de recherche sur le style et l’interprétation complètent son expérience de concert et approfondissent sa compréhension des œuvres qu’il joue.

Viktor a présenté ses projets dans le cadre de conférences à Graz en Autriche, à Calgary et à Montréal, et a reçu des bourses de l’Observatoire interdisciplinaire de création et recherche en musique de l’Université de Montréal et McGill. Il est invité à jouer et à parler de ses projets divers à la radio et à la télévision.

En tant que musicien autonome, Viktor est particulièrement intéressé par la gestion de carrière. Son partenaire d’affaires et lui travaillent sur un projet pour aider les musiciens à développer et organiser leurs carrières. Leur projet pour une plateforme novatrice leur a valu le prix du Meilleur projet de la Fondation du Père Lindsay – Orford Musique en 2018. Bien que le chemin soit sinueux, Viktor se sent chanceux de pouvoir partager sa passion et de contribuer au monde musical!

*Biographie fournie par l’artiste