Recital Series

Denis Matsuev Meets
Liszt and Scriabin

A pianist of infallible technique and Artist-in-Residence with the OSM, Denis Matsuev performs two emblematic works by Liszt: his only Piano Sonata, an essential work of the Romantic repertoire, and the fiery Mephisto Waltz. Discover (or rediscover) the passionate, mystical world of that fearless pioneer of Postromanticism, Alexander Scriabin.


Denis Matsuev, piano



Maison symphonique de Montréal

1600 Rue Saint-Urbain, Montréal, QC H2X 0S1

Sunday October 13, 2019, 2:30 PM
Tickets Prices

Price : From 46$*

* Prices, artists, repertoire, and concert dates and times may be modified without notice.



Liszt, Piano Sonata in B minor, S. 178 (32 min.)

Liszt, Mephisto Waltz no. 1, “Der Tanz in der Dorfschenke” (The Dance in the Village Inn), S. 514 (13 min.)

Scriabin, Two Poems, Op. 32

Poem no. 1 in F-sharp major: “Andante cantabile” (3 min.)

Poem no. 2 in D major: “Allegro, con eleganzza, con fiducia” (2 min.)

Scriabin, Piano Sonata no. 3 in F-sharp minor, Op. 23 (18 min.)

Scriabin, Piano Sonata no. 5 in F-sharp major, Op. 53 (11 min.)

Audio clip


Recitals Series

The Recitals

Brochure et dépliants

Brochure saison 19-20
Dépliant mélodînes
Dépliant Pierre-Rolland